

August 17, 2017

Al E. Fox Division 1 Jeffrey C. Brown Division 2 Timothy H. Hoag Division 3 Eugene F. West Division 4 Terry L. Foreman

Board of Directors

Division 5
General Manager
Tony L. Stafford

The Honorable Lorena S. Gonzalez Fletcher, Chair Assembly Appropriations Committee State Capitol, Room 2114 Sacramento, CA 95814

Re: SB 623 (Monning) - OPPOSE

Dear Chair Gonzalez Fletcher,

On behalf of Camrosa Water District, I am writing to express our opposition to SB 623 (Monning), which would establish a special fund within the State Water Resources Control Board to assist those communities that do not have safe drinking water.

We agree with the central tenet of SB 623 that disadvantaged communities in rural, unincorporated areas that do not have access to safe water should receive assistance. However, the source of such financial assistance needs to be carefully considered.

Any form of a water tax, public goods charge, and/or ratepayer assessment applied to water bills across the state would be a misguided solution. Casting a wide net across a broad spectrum of California water agencies to hold ratepayers financially responsible for addressing damage caused in certain areas by specific entities is not good government.

As an alternative, we urge you to consider the options put forth by ACWA, which include funding from the Safe Drinking Water State Revolving Fund (SRF); general obligation bonds as proposed in SB 5 (de León); and/or financial assistance from the state's general fund.

In sum, if SB 623 is amended to include a water tax, public goods charge, and/or ratepayer assessment, we would adamantly oppose this bill. Should you or members of your staff have any questions, please do not hesitate to contact me at 805-482-8342 or at TonyS@camrosa.com. Thank you for your consideration.

Sincerely,

Tony Stafford

General Manager

Tony Statland

cc: The Honorable William Monning

Honorable Members, Assembly Appropriations Committee The Honorable Jacqui Irwin, Assemblymember, 44th District

Ms. Jennifer Galehouse, Deputy Chief Consultant, Assembly Appropriations Committee

Mr. John Kennedy, Consultant, Assembly Republican Caucus

Ms. Cindy Tuck, ACWA Deputy Executive Director for Governmental Relations